Setting the Tone for 2015

I am beginning to believe there is one full week between Christmas and New Year’s for a darn good reason. And that reason is so that I can have a complete and proper meltdown before embracing my new beginnings.

I use the term “meltdown” lightly, but it pretty accurately describes the feelings I’ve had over the past week. All of the built up anxiety over several weeks of planning and preparation to make Christmas magical peaks in one day. One quickly disappearing day. And we are left with mounds of dirty dishes, crumpled wrapping paper, mangled boxes, lots of decorations to take down, and quiet. The kind of quiet that amplifies my thoughts. And my thoughts shouldn’t always be amplified, it turns out.

I am recovering from my meltdown and I am wrangling in and focusing my thoughts on the year to come. The year that begins today.

My internal thoughts are often served up interview style, and here are the questions I’m asking myself…

What do I want more of in 2015?

What tone do I want to set?

What hopes and dreams and goals do I have for myself?

After my thoughts pop in rapid fire mode like the last 20 seconds while making microwave popcorn, there is calm. There is anticipation. There is excitement. And there are answers.

I want more meaningful connection in my life. I want relationships that add to my joy and well-being. I want ample opportunities to love and to be loved. I want to be understood and accepted. I want to learn and grow. I want passion and purpose to surface every single day. I want to be healthy and happy and active. I want to express myself creatively. I want to embrace my imperfections and allow myself grace. I want to fuel my faith and protect my peace. These are the things I want more of.

So, setting the tone for those things means making some choices and establishing some structure.

My first set-the-tone choice is to select one powerful word that sums up my want-list. I’ve been pondering this for days and have come up with… wait for it…

CREATE!

I can create space in my heart and in my life for all the things I’m wanting. I can create opportunities to pursue my desires. I can create an environment to support my wishes. I can allow myself time to be creative. I can create the best version of myself and in doing that, I can create an amazing year and a beautiful life.

CREATE is my set-the-tone, powerful, inspirational, guiding word for 2015.

What should your word be? Can you think of one?

IMG_1567.JPG

Now that we have our words, what the heck is next?

Well, here’s what’s next for me… I am going to apply some structure to carry out my word. Because my word is a verb, I am going to need to DO something to spring it into action. I’d love it if just choosing a magical word would make all my dreams come true, but this girl did not lose my glass slipper at the stroke of midnight last night. I lost an entire freaking year, so I need to get cracking on some practical ways to put my word in play.

But for today, I am going to let my word sink in. I’m going to let it simmer in my brain while I take down Christmas trees, vacuum up the remnants of our holiday cheer, and watch football games with my hubby. Today I am going to ponder.

And tomorrow I am going to CREATE and share my plan! Join me here tomorrow, won’t you? And bring your word. We can plan our awesome years together!

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Setting the Tone for 2015

  1. Missy January 1, 2015 at 1:24 pm Reply

    My word for next year is “Shine”. Looking forward to finding out about your plan.

    • trisbendickson January 2, 2015 at 3:04 pm Reply

      Love “shine” for a guide word, Missy! That is so perfect for you 😉

Leave a comment