My Big Girl Letter to Santa

I loved writing my Santa letters as a kiddo. A freshly sharpened pencil scratched intently on wide-ruled notebook paper. Neat and legible so he would be sure to know exactly what this good girl wished for.

I always asked for a few reasonable gifts, and I usually got them. I was sure to include my Mom and Dad in my letters too, because I didn’t want anyone to be disappointed on Christmas. I could count on Santa to read my letter and deliver what I asked for and he knew exactly how to make wishes come true in the most magical ways.

Somewhere along the way, Light Brights and Easy Bake Ovens gave way to wishes that Santa could no longer deliver. Maybe it’s not his lack of magic, but rather my lack of letters? Just maybe what I need is a big girl letter to Santa to make my wishes come true?

Dear Santa,

I have so many wishes for Christmas this year! I hope you will read my letter and be reminded of that wide-eyed little girl who looked for magic in the world. I still look for magic, all these years later, but I am jaded and often disappointed. I want to believe in goodness and love, but the world has a disturbing shortage of those things these days.

So this year, I am choosing to believe and to put my hope for magic in you. Partly because I have been watching too many Hallmark Christmas movies, and partly because I just miss that mystical feeling of wonder.

I wonder and I wish, and here is my big girl Christmas list…

I wish for smiles on the faces all around me. And on my own face too.

I wish for simple and sweet gestures from strangers, like holding open a door or a wave when I let them go in front of me in the busy parking lot.

I wish for gentle reminders that the human spirit is alive and well. May there be more instances of generosity and love than of corruption and selfishness on the local news. And may I be pleasantly surprised by the hearts of others when I see them interacting with kindness and tolerance.

I wish for a to-do list that reads more like a to-be list. Frantically checking things off by buying them at a store is not nearly as important as joyfully checking things off because I accomplished being understanding and enthusiastic and loving and forgiving and approachable and inclusive. And may the things that I “do” cause me to “be” the very best me.

I wish for a less-stressed and more-blessed Christmas. To realize that whatever I do will be exactly enough and to soak up the beauty and bounty all around me.

I wish for gratitude to be given and to be received for every act of kindness. A simple acknowledgement is all it takes to remind us that we matter and are appreciated.

I wish for laughter and the buzz of family and friends to drown out even the slightest whisper of sadness.

I wish for snuggles and hugs and plenty of “I love you’s”.

I wish for the feeling of magic in the air. The thought that anything is possible if you just believe. And truth in the mantra that THIS really is the most wonderful time of the year.

I hope you can grant my wishes this year Santa, just like you did when my list contained Donny and Marie Osmond dolls. I promise to leave out plenty of milk and cookies for you and I will be sure to put the fire out before I go to bed. And I promise to cherish the magic moments this holiday, knowing that those precious, passing moments are the things that matter most to this good girl.

Love,

Tris

P.S. I realize that you have to consider my road rage and that it might move me to the naughty list. Maybe you can bring me mittens this year so they will think I am waving? Just a thought.

IMG_1543.JPG

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “My Big Girl Letter to Santa

  1. juliemhart December 23, 2014 at 9:53 am Reply

    Glad to see you writing again, my friend. And, yes, mittens are surely on the way. πŸ™‚ A beautiful post and a reminder for us all. Thank you.

    • trisbendickson December 24, 2014 at 10:39 am Reply

      Thank you Julie πŸ™‚ Blessings to you and your family this Christmas! Hugs xoxo

  2. Melissa Marshall December 31, 2014 at 11:45 am Reply

    “I wish for a to-do list that reads more like a to-be list.” <<–THIS. Period. Screw (excuse my lack of a sensible verb) 'things'; I wish more to BE. This paragraph resonates with me so much more this year. Life seems to fall in a rut and the importance of being goes by the wayside THAT statement is going to be my 2015 mantra. Thank you my sweet friend. I want to BE more this coming year. πŸ™‚

  3. trisbendickson January 4, 2015 at 7:53 pm Reply

    To be! Isn’t that really the purpose of our journeys? To be the very best people we can be. So blessed by who you are, Melissa! You are kind and generous and loving and compassionate and vibrant and a million other things that make you amazing πŸ™‚ Here’s to being awesome this year!

Leave a Reply

