Celebrating your Superpowers – Day 31 {Perseverance}

Today is here! It is the final day of our superpower celebration, and I’m so glad you have joined me.

31 days is a long time to commit to anything, let’s be honest. If I had to give up coffee for 31 days, I would be a crabby and lethargic basket case. If I had chosen to take up knitting for 31 days, I most certainly would have gouged my own eyes out with those sharp little needles by now. I need my coffee! And knitting is just not my thing. So committing 31 days to either of those ventures would have been decidedly painful.

But this month, I chose to accept a brilliant challenge to write for 31 days. {you can catch some of the other bloggers who took on this 31 day fun here}

I chose a topic that fueled a fire within me, and for 31 days I decided to highlight and showcase the pieces of power that we just don’t bring to the forefront often enough. Our everyday, ordinarily amazing, regular remarkable, occasionally downplayed superpowers. Because within our lives, we just don’t celebrate the awesome things about ourselves with the consistency and fanfare that we should. So for 31 days, we have!

Some days were awesome and my enthusiasm and optimism propelled me through. But some days were hard. Some days I wanted to do other things. And all of the days, I was doing other things. My regular things. Like work and appointments and responsibilities and spending time with friends and cleaning and cooking and grocery shopping and traveling. And each of these 31 days contained only 24 hours. The same amount of time each day had before I committed to writing every day. So some days, I struggled to find motivation. And there were certainly days that I questioned if I had anything worthwhile to share, and my confidence was hard to come by. But I never gave up.

“Age wrinkles the body. Quitting wrinkles the soul.”

~ Douglas MacArthur

Goodness knows I have plenty of wrinkles due to age. But I refuse to wrinkle my soul!  So today, as we wrap things up, our grand finale is to celebrate our amazing superpower of PERSEVERANCE!

perseverance

Before I started writing this year’s series, I asked my Facebook friends to share their superpowers. I received several wonderful responses, but one really stood out. Following a tragic trauma in her teen years, this particular superhero wasn’t expected to live past her tender age. She survived and today, 27 years later, she is celebrating her birthday. She beat the odds and overcame her challenges and credits her superpower of perseverance.

“I would say perseverance and optimism are mine. People tell me that I’m a miracle, but all I did was not give up and pray that some day things would not look the way they did then. I have since learned that this same ability can help me to continue to grow and progress, and to believe that things always have a chance to get better, as long as you don’t give up.”

 

Such powerful words. And such an inspiration!

Perseverance is our continued effort to do or achieve something, despite difficulties, failure, or opposition. That’s how the dictionary defines it. But I define it as simply never giving up.

We all have setbacks and obstacles in our lives. We all experience failure from time to time. And we all occasionally want to just stop trying. The roadblocks seem too big. And our desire to overcome them seems too small. That disproportionate match up happens to all of us at one time in our lives or another. And for some, the challenges are more frequent and hold greater significance.

Those are the moments where perseverance plays a key role. Those are the moments we decide to keep on going. One step at a time, moving forward and continuing our progress. Persevering despite the odds.

“Our greatest glory is not in never failing, but in rising up every time we fail.”

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Our greatest glory is in rising up. Digging deep. Holding on. Keeping faith. And simply never ever giving up.

IMG_1422.JPG


My deepest gratitude for sharing this 31 day journey with me to celebrate our superpowers! I encourage you to continue this celebration, far beyond this month. Keep encouraging one another. Keep focusing on your strengths. Keep finding ways to acknowledge the amazing qualities you possess. And keep persevering like only a true ordinary extraordinary superhero can!

A few things for you to ponder past this 31 day celebration…

  • What are the qualities you most admire in others?

 

  • What are the qualities you most admire in yourself? 

 

  • How can you redirect your thoughts when you begin to focus on your weaknesses?

 

  • How can you consistently surface and celebrate your strengths?

I would love to hear more about YOUR superpowers, or maybe superpowers that I didn’t have a chance to honor during this past 31 days. Share them with me! Let’s keep the celebration going!!! 


IMG_1275-5

*This is the 31st post in a 31 day series called “Celebrating your Superpowers”. Catch the series from the beginning by clicking here and you will be directed to an introductory post containing links to each day’s topic.

Thank you for joining me in celebrating your superpowers this month!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

