Celebrating your Superpowers – Day 29 {Transformation}

On any given day, we get to be exactly what we decide to be. And today, I am happy to say I’m not the same person that I was a year ago, or the year before that. Because we change. We evolve. 

Some change is welcome. Some change is not. But the truth of the matter is that change is an unavoidable force in our lives.

Here’s the beauty in change:  We have the power to accept or deny change and within that ability comes our choice to transform ourselves.

 

transformation

 

Transformation is our intentional metamorphosis from what we are to what we choose to become. And transformation is the superpower we’re celebrating today!

Remember the original transformer toys back in the day? A car turned into a dinosaur or something like that. Okay, so maybe I don’t remember the toys exactly, but I can still hear the commercial jingle in my head like it is being freshly sprinkled between my Saturday morning cartoons. “Transformers – more than meets the eye!”  Now you’re singing along too, right?

We are all transformers of one sort or another. And we are definitely more than meets the eye.

After some key life challenges, I made the conscious decision to no longer feel sorry for myself for what I couldn’t have and to instead be grateful for what I did have. I tried for years and years and years to have children, and I was unable to. That grief could have eaten me alive if I would have let it. It could have made me jealous and bitter and just plain sad. But I refused to allow that. I decided to instead become a person who embraced my blessings, even when I didn’t have every blessing I wanted.

Through my journey, I have longed for a more spiritual existence, so I am working on transforming my life to include more of that. I have wanted to be surrounded by inspiring and encouraging souls, so I choose to spend time with people who have those qualities. I have needed to let go of past hurts and focus on better boundaries and emotional well-being, so I am doing that. I have recognized that I should lose a few pounds and commit to a healthier lifestyle, but then I remembered that I like to eat way too much to give up the good stuff, so I’m still chunky by choice. Clearly I’m a work in progress.

Many of you have transformed yourselves and your lives over the years as well. Maybe you physically transformed yourself, like some of my impressive and disciplined body building friends. Or maybe you transformed yourselves mentally, like some of my friends who have survived deep sorrow and tragedy, but have not let those things define them. Or maybe you just woke up one morning and decided that you didn’t love the person you were becoming, so you changed your course and decided to transform yourself into a better, happier, healthier version of you.

 

 

“You have sole custody of your life. Who you are today is not who you have to be tomorrow. Embrace the possibility of transformation.”   

~ Leeza Gibbons

 

 

We learn. We grow. We choose to change. We set goals. We make progress. We decide to become the very best version of ourselves.

No matter what our transformations are, we have the power. That truly amazing, intentional power. Choose. Commit. Begin. Transform.

 

quote transformation


IMG_1275-5

 

 

*This is the 29th post in a 31 day series called “Celebrating your Superpowers”. Catch the series from the beginning by clicking here and you will be directed to an introductory post containing links to each day’s topic. Join me in celebrating your superpowers this month!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

