Celebrating our Superpowers – Day 28 {Gratitude}

Hey friends! We are nearing the end of 31 Days of Celebrating your Superpowers and I am so grateful that you have been celebrating right along with me.

We each have dozens or hundreds or maybe millions of amazing qualities that allow us to conquer our worlds. We do! Yet we don’t always take the time to give ourselves a big ol’ pat on the back for how capable and awesome and powerful we are. We are! But this month, we have surfaced and celebrated some key characteristics that empower us to make a positive difference in our families, our friendships, and our communities.

Somehow, sometimes, we get caught up in what we’re not instead of embracing what we are. Somehow, sometimes, we get stuck on compensating for our weaknesses and we forget to focus on our strengths. Somehow, sometimes, we lose sight of our blessings because we are battling the obstacles in our way. Somehow, sometimes, we forget to be grateful for even the lessons that are part of our journeys.

gratitude

Gratitude fills us with appreciation for what is in our lives at this exact moment. It isn’t bogged down with “what if’s” and “when this happens”. It is now. And it is an enormously powerful force.

Let me ask you this…

Think about your state of mind when you are wishing and worrying and complaining about what isn’t. Are you in a state of gratitude in those moments?

And what about this…

Think about the times that you are content and at peace with your life. Are you in a state of gratitude
in those moments?

Personally, I notice an extreme disconnect with gratitude when I am focusing on what isn’t going right in my life. When I flounder in the “I’ll be happy once _____ happens” mindsets, I am not tapping into my powers of gratitude. I’m just not. I’m whining about the way it should be and I’m hoping for things that could be and I am just plain wallowing in my dis-satisfaction. And there I stay. Stuck. And crabby. And not very pleasant to be around.

It happens to all of us, right? Those whiny and wallowing moments? 

But, when I am connected to feelings of gratitude, I am focusing on the blessings in my life. I can easily see the things that are going right in my life. I have a sense of peace and contentment. And somehow, this superpower of gratitude, when practiced regularly, opens up opportunities for additional blessings to reveal themselves. And I am open. And hopeful. And can be a blessing to the people around me.


Gratitude is a shift in perspectives.
It moves us from the wishes to the what is. It allows us to acknowledge and appreciate our current circumstances which unlocks our ability to move forward.

Let’s be honest here – we are not all going to be grateful for every single thing in our lives. That’s not the point. That would be impossible.

Sometimes unwelcome events will occur and challenges will come up that cause us frustration and fear and maybe some other “F” words to pop into our brains too. It happens.

Those moments, however, are not our entire lives. Those moments are isolated bits of irritating crud that crop up from time to time. The important thing is what we allow ourselves to linger on and to live by. What we decide to focus our thoughts on.

Are we grateful for the things that are good in our lives?

Or are we giving away our power to frustration and fear and focusing on all the wrong things?

We choose. We decide how our powers play out. It is up to us.

When gratitude outweighs your worries and sets the tone for your day, your month, or your year – you are truly tapping into your powers. And gratitude, my friends, is one heckuva superpower to celebrate!

 

quote gratitude


IMG_1275-6

*This is the 28th post in a 31 day series called “Celebrating your Superpowers”. Catch the series from the beginning by clicking here and you will be directed to an introductory post containing links to each day’s topic. Join me in celebrating your superpowers this month!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

