Celebrating your Superpowers – Day 23 {Encouragement}

My friends are lifters! That’s what they do… they lift me up.

Evenings this week have been filled with different groups of lovely ladies. While I was driving home tonight from my friend’s house, I felt myself smiling. Just smiling. And I realized that it was because I felt good about myself. They do that for me. And hopefully I do that for them as well. 

I realize that not all “friendships” are like that. Relationships with women can be tricky. I’m sure you all can relate to exchanges that are less than pleasant. Unwelcome criticism that was delivered with malice. Talking behind your back. Comparisons made to make you feel small. Sharp-tongued moments that leave lasting scars. Yuck.

But my friends aren’t like that. My friends are kind, loving, supportive women. And in my circles of friendship, we choose to lift each other up instead of tear one another down. And what a powerful thing that can be!

 

encouragement

 

Encouragement has a way of seeping into our souls and speaking truth and love and kindness directly into our hearts. It is a gentle reminder that we are worthy and capable and enough. And it is the foundation we need to follow our dreams and to reach for more.

We get to be encouragers. And we get to be encouraged. And the world is a better place because of it.

 

 

“Surround yourself only with people who are going to lift you higher.”

~ Oprah Winfrey

 

 

Who are you choosing to surround yourself with? And are they adding to your life, or subtracting from it?

I choose to surround myself with lifters. With people who see the good in me and positively impact my life. And it is important to me that I am a lifter in their lives too. 

Encouragement empowers. Encouragement enhances. Encouragement energizes.

Be that. Give that. Because that is your superpower!

 


IMG_1275-5

 

 

*This is the 23rd post in a 31 day series called “Celebrating your Superpowers”. Catch the series from the beginning by clicking here and you will be directed to an introductory post containing links to each day’s topic. Join me in celebrating your superpowers this month!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

