Celebrating your Superpowers – Day 22 {Confidence}

There are some days that you can enter a room with the swagger of a superstar. Today was not that day. For some reason, I was feeling a little puny. And not so powerful.

Some days I feel it strongly. The thing that makes me vibrant and interesting and full of oomph. I just know I can handle anything, and that feeling radiates from every pore. And those days are awesome!

On the days I’m not feeling that special something, I miss it. I wonder where it went. And I try to figure out what caused its mysterious absence. Because when it’s not there, I am just not the same.

And “it” is today’s superpower.

confidence

Confidence is this amazing, intangible quality that gives us the courage and comfort in knowing we can conquer anything put in our path. It is truly one of our most powerful superpowers. And it can be illusive. But when we tap into it, we are unstoppable.

Here’s the thing with confidence… we want it, we need it, but sometimes we unintentionally chase it away with our doubts and fears and worries.

When I am able to surface my self-confidence, I feel like I can accomplish absolutely anything I put my mind to. And I would love to say that I feel that way 365 days a year. But I don’t.

I can’t even give a number to the days of the year I feel that way, to be honest with you. But I can say that I feel that way more often than not. Fifty-plus percent of the time, I am confident in myself and my abilities and those days are amazing. Because I make those days amazing. And everything I put out into the universe comes back to me tenfold, I find. So those confident days hold a very special place in my heart.

They are the “good hair” days. And the “I am smart” days. And the “I’m rockin’ this awesome outfit” days. And the “ready for anything” days. And the “holding my head high” days. And the “bring it on” days. Those are the days that confidence plays a starring role in my life. I am bulletproof on those days.

But I also have the days where I just don’t feel quite good enough. And it shows in my attitude and in my demeanor. On those days, my doubts are taking center stage. My worries guest star. And my fears kick my butt. Those days can be hard.

So, here’s what I am wondering. What do I need to do to call out my confidence even in the face of fear? How can I surface my superpower of confidence even when everything isn’t going the way I want it to? What can I do to turn my days around when I am not feeling my best?

I’m not sure I have the answer to those questions right now. 

What I do know is that I am better when I am confident in my abilities. I seem better from the outside looking in. And I feel better from the inside looking out.

For my confidence to be fully present, I need to be fully present too. I need to squash my doubts. I need to conquer my fears. I need to quiet my worries.

We most certainly can handle any situation that comes our way on any day. We may need to reach out for help or reach inward for extra courage, but no matter what extra powers we need to bring forth, it all begins with our mindset. With what we believe about ourselves.

Can we? Or can’t we? 

We can. I can. You can.

No matter what situation comes our way, we have the ability to not just survive it, but thrive in it. Even on our bad hair days. Even when we are not certain how everything will play out.

We don’t need to have everything covered. Just believing we can – that we have the capabilities and resources and power – is enough. That simple belief that we can is the fire that fuels our confidence. And confidence is our superpower!

 

I’m wondering how confidence plays out in your life…

On your confident days, how do you feel?

What would other people say about you on those days?

And on the days where it’s harder to tap into your confidence, what is the cause?

How can you counteract the confidence zappers in your life in a positive way?

 


IMG_1275-5

 

 

*This is the 22nd post in a 31 day series called “Celebrating your Superpowers”. Catch the series from the beginning by clicking here and you will be directed to an introductory post containing links to each day’s topic. Join me in celebrating your superpowers this month!

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “Celebrating your Superpowers – Day 22 {Confidence}

  1. juliemhart October 23, 2014 at 8:35 am Reply

    Great blog…
    “No matter what situation comes our way, we have the ability to not just survive it, but thrive in it. Even on our bad hair days.”
    Though ‘bad hair days’ might be a deal breaker for me … confidence be damned!
    Thanks for keeping us inspired over the past few weeks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

