Celebrating your Superpowers – Day 16 {Thought Control}

Plenty of comic strip villains have threatened to brainwash their targeted superheroes. To control their minds and make them do their dastardly deeds. {insert evil laugh here} Muahahahahaha.

And sometimes their plans worked… temporarily.

But inevitably, in every edition and in every episode, the superhero snapped out of it and was able to focus on what was good and right and just. And all was well in the world again.

Quirky analogies aside, you can do that to. You have the power to focus on what’s good and right and just. Your superpower today is thought control.

IMG_1413-0.JPG

We all have days where one little setback sets the downward spiral in motion. Swirling and taking every positive thought we once had along with it. Stuck in the momentum, our thoughts spin out of control. And it all started with one little thing. But it ended with everything.

Can you relate to those days?

I certainly can. And on those unfortunate swirling and spiraling days, my thoughts seem to take on a life of their own.

Thought control is simply our ability to focus our thoughts on positive and productive things. It may not always feel like it, but we have complete control over our thoughts. Complete control.

We may not be able to control how we feel. Emotions are harder. But we can certainly control what we think. Either we have power over our thoughts, or we allow our thoughts to have power over us. We choose. We decide. It’s up to us.

The thoughts we give focus to are the thoughts we give power to.

If we allow ourselves in a moment of sadness and weakness, to let our minds wander and well up in a pool of pity at our feet, we may very well drown in that pool.

But if we recognize our thoughts spiraling down, circling the drain, we can save them. We can reel them in. We can focus them on what is good and right and just.

Sometimes our thoughts are big fat liars. Sometimes my thoughts tell me I’m fat and ugly and stupid. And sometimes I listen.

But on my powerful days, I shut them up and shut them down. Superhero style.

I have the power to redirect my thoughts. I have the power to focus my thoughts in positive places. I have the power to choose the thoughts I will allow to run through my mind. I have the power to control my thoughts. And so do you, my superhero friends. Because thought control is your superpower!

As we all work on perfecting our thought control powers…

When are you easily able to refocus your thoughts toward positivity?

In what situations do you struggle with controlling your thoughts?

Next time you feel your thoughts spiraling downward, what will you do?

I am so very blessed that you’ve joined me in surfacing and celebrating your superpowers this month. It is so nice to know I’m not alone on my journey. And neither are you. Thank you for celebrating with me!

IMG_1275-5.JPG

*This is the 16th post in a 31 day series called “Celebrating your Superpowers“. Catch the series from the beginning by clicking here and you will be directed to an introductory post containing links to each day’s topic. Join me in celebrating your superpowers this month!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

