Celebrating your Superpowers – Day 7 {Individuality}

Today is a special day! Yes, it is day #7 of our superpower celebration, which is awesome. But it is also my North Carolina nephew’s birthday.

Happiest of birthdays to this little superhero!

IMG_1189.JPG

Asher is his name and he is quite the character. He is intense and aggressive at times, as evidenced by his game-face in this photo! He is sweet and thoughtful and caring and kind. He is a master negotiator of bedtimes and game rules and 10 more minutes of Clash of Clans. And he has this smart and sarcastic sense of humor that I like to think he got from me.

On the first night of my last visit to see him and his family, I freaked out at the ginormous size of the bugs there. If you have not been to the south in the summer, just trust me on this. Huge! So this little cutie picked up the giant (and dead) bug with a stick and proceeded to chase me all around the parking lot giggling while I was squealing and panting from the out-of-shape-old-lady running. He thought it was hilarious. And it most definitely was.

On the car ride home, I could feel his feisty little fingers creeping and crawling softly up my arm from the backseat. I played perfectly into his plan, and gave a good scream at each scare tactic. He was thoroughly pleased with his creepy crawly efforts and I had a good case of the heebie-jeebies.

When we arrived at his house, he proudly announced that he was going to bunk with his big brother Cooper, and let me sleep in his bed. What a generous kid! And when it was time to get ready for bed, this sweet little man came in and hugged me tightly goodnight.

While he was in there, the little schemer slyly tucked a plastic bug under my pillow. I knew to look for it when the snickering turned to a full-blown giggle-fest in the room next door. Clearly something was up! And I happily reached under the pillow and squeaked out the loudest fake-bug shriek I could muster.

My Asher-man came running into the room to see my face and to relish in the success of his precocious prank. His face beamed with pride. And I realized that his sense of humor was similar to mine, but it was all his own.

This kid is one of a kind. This nephew of mine is an individual.

Individuality is all the bits and pieces of all the qualities and characteristics that make you uniquely and wonderfully you!

Why do we try so hard to fit in, when we were made to stand out? Why do we dim our light so others can shine brighter?

Dare to stand out and shine brightly with every quirky quality you have. That silly sense of humor, all the beautiful differences, that signature stuff, the way the world looks through your eyes… all evidence of your brilliant individuality.

Today, I encourage you to embrace your gifts. All the things that make you who you are. Even the things that you’ve tried to change. Every single bit of your awesomeness. Because all of that stuff is your individuality. And individuality, my friends, is your superpower!

Wondering

What amazing things make you an individual?

How can you surface and celebrate those unique qualities?

How can you encourage others in your circle to embrace their individuality?

 


 

IMG_1275-0.JPG

 

 

*This is the 7th post in a 31 day series called “Celebrating your Superpowers“. Catch the series from the beginning by clicking here and you will be directed to an introductory page containing links to each day’s topic. Join me in celebrating your superpowers this month!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Celebrating your Superpowers – Day 7 {Individuality}

  1. amandacalitz October 9, 2014 at 2:43 am Reply

    thanks for sharing your story! Your nephew sounds really cute,

Leave a Reply

