Celebrating your Superpowers – Day 5 {Multi-Tasking}

Welcome to Day #5 of our superpower celebration! I began my day wondering what the heck I was going to write about today. You see, I don’t have it all figured out yet. Every morning I just wait to see what comes to me and then write about it at some point during the day. Definitely not as organized as many other bloggers who have pre-planned and pre-written much of their 31 day series. But not me. I apparently prefer to just fly by the seat of my pants! In an invisible plane.

So I was thinking. And I was doing laundry. And I was changing the bedding. And I was vacuuming. And I was cleaning bathrooms. And I was starting a roast in the crock pot. And I was dusting and rearranging some nicknacks. And I was cleaning dog slobber off the windows. And I was simmering some apples and cloves on the stove. And I was snuggling my sweet pup and sipping coffee between it all. And I was thinking some more. Because I am always thinking.

And BAM! It came to me…

multi-tasking

Women are amazing at doing a zillion things all at once! Multi-tasking is definitely one of our  superpowers!

Let’s be honest here… women are just so much better at multi-tasking than men are. This little nugget of wisdom came to me many years ago when I was a newlywed. My husband and I have always been really good about sharing chores and alternating responsibilities. He’s pretty awesome like that! So way back when, we settled on an arrangement for meals. If I cooked it, he cleaned it. And vice versa.

I realized quickly that it was a significant challenge for me to watch his cooking process. I have a system where I can start one thing, get another thing going, come back and stir or flip or finish, seamlessly moving back and forth between tasks, all the while planning on everything being done at the very same time. Viola! Magical.

My husband does not have that system. I don’t think he has a system at all actually. Well, maybe he does. Is starting one thing and waiting for it to be completely finished before moving onto the next thing a system? Perhaps it is.

I cracked the code of his interesting system one day while I impatiently observed him watching the microwave cook our food. Just watching it. Waiting for that three-minute timer to count down to zero and ding done. Three minutes spent entirely on waiting. And watching. And nothing else. It was painful! All I could think of was how many things I could have accomplished in that three-minute time frame. Somewhere within those three minutes, I decided to stop watching his process and to just be grateful that he was making our dinner, however he chose to do it.

Nowadays, he is so much better at accomplishing multiple tasks at once. But at the time, it certainly didn’t come naturally to him. It wasn’t instinctively part of his process. Which was hard for me to understand because it has always been part of mine. It is just how my mind works.

How about you Wonder Women out there? Are you doing dozens of things all at the same time like me?

I know you are! That’s just how we’re wired.

We do it at home with chores and cooking and cleaning. We do it at work with projects and emails and interactions. Heck, some of us even do it in the car while driving and singing to the radio and applying mascara, but I wouldn’t recommend that approach.

We do it in all facets of our life and as a result, we can accomplish truly amazing things. Celebrate your multi-tasking superpowers today! 

 

 

Superpower side effect:  Wonder Women everywhere, be careful not to get so caught up in your multi-tasking that you forget to enjoy the moment you are in. Being fully present in this moment can be a challenge when your mind is already ten steps ahead. And the benefits of multi-tasking are not worth missing the important and beautiful moments in life. Remember that we all need a little break from time to time, so give yourself permission to slow down occasionally and just be. 

 


 

IMG_1275

 

 

*This is the 5th post in a 31 day series called “Celebrating your Superpowers”. Catch the series from the beginning by clicking here and you will be directed to an introductory post containing links to each day’s topic. Join me in celebrating your superpowers this month! 

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “Celebrating your Superpowers – Day 5 {Multi-Tasking}

  1. Barbara London October 6, 2014 at 5:02 am Reply

    Love this SUPER POWERS!!! Enjoyed reading you blog for today…I guess I MUST have some of those super powers; today I am writing, reading blogs, doing laundry, cleaning the kitchen…and I also NEED to do the next session of my online income tax preparation class…the day is FULL!!! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

