Celebrating your Superpowers – Day 3 {Strength}

“A hero is an ordinary individual who finds the strength to persevere and endure in spite of overwhelming obstacles.”

~ Christopher Reeve

Ordinary – with that special bit of “extra” – is what makes a true hero. You have that little something tucked deep down inside that surfaces when adversity strikes. I have it too.

That, my friends, is your strength rising up. And strength is your superpower!

IMG_1285.JPG

 

The kind of strength I’m talking about isn’t the ability to lift a car. That type of strength is only in the movies and comic books, not in real life. Sure, there are a smattering of stories where ordinary folks somehow find super-human strength in times of disaster and are capable of lifting more than they ever thought possible. But accomplishing the impossible doesn’t require bulging muscles. It requires strength.

I can barely lift the giant container of kitty litter in my pantry and the back of my arms jiggle when I wave, but I am strong.

I live a blessed life, but have certainly encountered my fair share of adversity. Learning at an early age to cope with alcohol infused anger within my family. There were times that I was embarrassed about my free lunch tickets and food stamps. I remember the feeling of packing my clothes in a black plastic garbage bag and going to a women’s shelter. I held my husband when he lost his Mom to cancer. Step-parenting often challenged me and I certainly never thought I would have to post bail, but I did. I have battled the disappointments of infertility and health issues of my own. And I have felt the effects of failure and anxiety and depression. Because of these things, I am strong.

While I am no stranger to obstacles, I also recognize that my challenges could be so much worse. Many of you are fighting tougher battles than mine. And you, my friend, are strong.

I am consistently surprised and inspired by the strength of my dear friend who is battling stage four cancer. Just today, her PET scan came back clear! Months and months of chemo and surgeries and struggles haven’t defeated her mind, body, or spirit. She remains strong in her faith and strong in her resolve. Sweet, enthusiastic, inspiring, grateful, beautiful, caring, smart, determined, loving, and compassionate are words I have used to describe her throughout our twenty-plus year friendship. And as I heard her calmly utter the words that her prognosis gives her seven years to live, I recognize that she is strong. And her strength makes her far more than a statistic-based prognosis. It makes her a superhero, and I celebrate and honor her strength today!

Strength seems to rise up in proportion to the adversity we face. The bigger the obstacle, the stronger we become. And the mere understanding that we each have the strength to persevere and endure despite the overwhelming obstacles that are blocking our paths, is empowering. We are strong!

 

Wondering how strength impacts your life…

As you think of the strong people in your life, who do you think of?

What ways do you exhibit strength in your life?

How do you celebrate and honor your strength?

 


 

IMG_1275.JPG

 

 

*This is the 3rd post in a 31 day series called “Celebrating your Superpowers”. Catch the series from the beginning by clicking here and you will be directed to an introductory post containing links to each day’s topic. Join me in celebrating your superpowers this month!

 

Special thanks to Aubree Bowman for sharing a picture of her little superhero, Rylan.

Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “Celebrating your Superpowers – Day 3 {Strength}

  1. Tonia Bendickson October 3, 2014 at 3:14 pm Reply

    Fantastic!!!

  2. Larissa October 3, 2014 at 3:34 pm Reply

    Awesome post! I love the topic and I look forward to reading more!

    • trisbendickson October 3, 2014 at 3:37 pm Reply

      So blessed by your encouragement! Thank you for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

