Celebrating your Superpowers – Day 2 {Optimism}

Our superpowers are exactly what they imply… SUPER! And POWERful!

But sometimes we forget that we are super and powerful people. We remember the things we can’t do. We focus on the things we’re not very good at. We obsess over our weaknesses. We get hung up on the not enough’s and wish we were’s.

Negativity can swallow us whole if we let it. It just zaps all the good stuff right out of us!

But, not today friends!

Today – and for the entire month – we will laser-focus on the positives! Our we can’s and we are’s. Our strengths and our exactly enough’s. Our super and powerful superpowers!

IMG_1283.JPG

Optimism is one sure-fire way to battle the forces of negativity. I am drawn to people who ooze optimism. And I just like myself a little better when I am optimistic too.

A wise friend of mine shared that the choice to be optimistic has provided strength though many difficult situations. She defines optimism as “the ability to look at any given situation and find the good or positive in it, or that can come from it”. And it bears repeating that she referred to optimism as a choice.

I choose my outfits, I chose my career, I choose my friends, I chose a delightful panzanella salad for lunch today, and I do in fact choose my outlook on life. You do too.

Another dear friend admitted that she isn’t always great at being optimistic, which many of us can relate to. It’s not always easy! But she has noticed that when she’s able to seek the silver linings, she is also able to improve her mood and influence her husband’s attitude in a positive way.

The phrase “happy wife, happy life” isn’t that far off base in my opinion. When we decide to choose optimism, we find strength to navigate our lives in a healthier way. In those optimistic moments, I can recognize the best in people and situations and I can give the best of myself.

I’m an optimist, no doubt about it. But I am also a realist. I don’t mean that to choose optimism, you have to completely throw logic out the window. Some situations in life just suck. And the problem is that those sucky situations will completely suck the life right out of you if you don’t change your perspective about them. Don’t let those situations get the best of you so that you’re unable to give the best of you.

Every situation has the power to teach you something. Every situation has the power to show you something about yourself. And in every situation, you have the power to be optimistic.

Summon your powers of optimism today! I promise it will make a positive difference in your world and in the world around you!

 

Wondering how optimism impacts your life…

What does optimism mean to you?

How does optimism improve your life?

What ways can you intentionally invite more optimism into your daily life?

 


 

IMG_1275.JPG

 

*This is the 2nd post in a 31 day series called “Celebrating your Superpowers”. Catch the series from the beginning by clicking here and you will be directed to an introductory post containing links to each day’s topic. Join me in celebrating your superpowers this month!

 

Special thanks to Megan Jensen for sharing the adorable photo above of her little superhero, Bentlee.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

