Celebrating your Superpowers – Day 1 {Bravery}

Perhaps the best conversation starter in the world is to ask someone this thought-provoking question:

“If you could have any superpower, what would it be?”

I want to be invisible. And I want to transform into crazy things. And how amazing would it be to fly? Or to be able to scale the side of a skyscraper. X-ray vision, no thank you. But I want to wear Wonder Woman’s bullet-deflecting bracelets that are both stylish and functional. Oh, and I want to lasso things. And squirt silly string from my wrists. And have a cool sidekick with less cool powers than mine. And I want to wear glasses and put my hair up as my super secret disguise so nobody will realize who I really am. And I want to change clothes in a phone booth. And I probably need to drive the Bat Mobile at least once in my life.

How about you?

Wikipedia defines a superhero as a type of hero character possessing extraordinary talents, supernatural phenomena, or superhuman powers and dedicated to protecting the public.

I grew up on Wonder Woman, Batman, Superman, Spiderman, and the Wonder Twins. These action heroes filled the screen of my giant console, dial channel changer, rabbit-ear antennae television and fueled my imagination every Saturday morning. I wanted to be extraordinary too!

For most of our lives, we likely think of ourselves as ordinary, regular, normal people. But today and throughout this month, I challenge you to think differently. I encourage you to think of yourself as the extraordinary, amazing, super awesome person that you are! And I want you to consider all of the seemingly simple things that make you that way.

IMG_1276.JPG

Today, let’s talk about BRAVERY.

Being brave is clearly a prerequisite for all superheroes. After all, you can’t save the world without being brave! But I am not leaping tall buildings in a single bound or stopping trains with my bare hands. In fact, most of the time I don’t feel very brave at all.

But in all reality, bravery is a basic part of most of our days.

Think about it… what did you tackle today that scared you? Even if just the tiniest bit of trepidation or anxiety or worry creeped into your day, you needed bravery to overcome it. And you did overcome it, because you’re reading this now.

Maybe our jobs aren’t to save all of mankind, but simply to save ourselves from the craziness around us. And maybe we can rub off on those who are closest to us in the best kind of way. Maybe we are merely meant to be brave in our own, sometimes regular and routine lives.

You, my sweet friend, are brave! With every new thing you attempt. With every obstacle you step past. With every challenge you overcome. With every time you refuse to give up. With every fear you squash and every doubt you silence. Bravery is there in all of these cases, cheering you on and pushing you forward.

Today, I encourage you to reach out and recognize the brave souls you know. And I challenge you to recognize the bravery that lies within you. It is there making a heroic appearance more often than you give yourself credit for.

Bravery is your superpower!

 

I’m curious how bravery has impacted your life?

What brave step did you take today, or yesterday, or recently?

How do you celebrate bravery in yourself or in others?

What opportunities do you have to be brave in your everyday life?

 


 

I am so grateful you have join me for this fun series! Stay tuned for more superpowers to celebrate tomorrow…

IMG_1275.JPG

 

 

*This is the 1st post in a 31 day series called “Celebrating your Superpowers”. Catch the series from the beginning by clicking here and you will be directed to an introductory post containing links to each day’s topic. Join me in celebrating your superpowers this month!

Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “Celebrating your Superpowers – Day 1 {Bravery}

  1. Robin Dance (@robindance) October 1, 2014 at 6:45 pm Reply

    Ahhh, I love this! I don’t know if you’re familiar with (in)courage’s online Book Club called Bloom, but we just announced our fall study on Monday. It’s “Let’s All Be Brave” by Annie Downs and she would agree w/this important Super Power :).

    FUN, important topic!

    • trisbendickson October 1, 2014 at 7:32 pm Reply

      Thanks for stopping by Robin! I am blessed by your encouragement and excited to check out your book recommendation about bravery 🙂 Such a gift to recognize bravery within ourselves and come to the realization that even itty bitty brave steps are BRAVE!

  2. Tonia Bendickson October 3, 2014 at 3:18 pm Reply

    So great!! Love the pic. Love your words. Love your heart. You’re SO brave. ❤️

Leave a Reply

