Because…

I pour my whole heart into parenting my sweet pup. Because I couldn’t have children, he is my child. I know not everyone can understand that, but maybe it’s not for everyone to understand.

He wasn’t quite three yet, so when he went from running and jumping and playing to struggling to walk, it scared me. And my worries of worst case scenarios loomed.

He’s just a dog, you may be thinking. But he’s not “just” a dog to me.

He has a neurologist now. He is incurable. He wears a special vest that allows us to help steady his steps. He is completely mentally and emotionally intact. He wobbles and falls so we adjust his surroundings to ensure his safety. He has a challenging life and many may have given up on him. But not us.

Because every day we have him is a day filled with love. Because we were the ones entrusted to care for him. Because he takes care of us too. Because we are not typical pet parents. Because our hearts are fully invested. Because every adventure is a blessing. Because we want him to experience a full life. Because the beautiful bits of life that lie ahead are worth the struggles of today.

IMG_1254.JPG

Sharing my thoughts on “because” with the beautiful blogging community at Five Minute Friday. Because inspiration can come from one simple word. And because there is comfort and encouragement there. And because everyone is welcome.

Tagged: , ,

8 thoughts on “Because…

  1. hopecarrart September 25, 2014 at 8:23 pm Reply

    What a beautiful message of devotion and I know, I’ve been there too, many times and yes. it is worth it. cherish the beautiful and good moments of the days ahead. blessings and peace.

    • trisbendickson September 25, 2014 at 8:29 pm Reply

      Thank you for your encouragement, sweet FMF friend. So glad you stopped by 🙂

  2. bluecottonmemory September 25, 2014 at 8:30 pm Reply

    I saw on a t.v. a “walker” for a dog who couldn’t use his hind legs anymore – and it was amazing! I understand about how you feel about your dog – I think it’s crucial to our hearts to be engaged in our homes in caring and nurturing. As my nest empties out – and this new dog (almost 2) – she fills up a lot of the quiet – and she needs me to take care of her. I think I’m probably healthier inside and out because of it!

    • trisbendickson September 25, 2014 at 8:32 pm Reply

      They sure have a way of filling up our empty spaces, don’t they. Thank you for your kind words 🙂 Blessed by your visit!

  3. amandacalitz September 25, 2014 at 8:37 pm Reply

    Thanks for sharing! I also have 2 dog kids so I can really relate. I’ve blogged about them many times you can find one post here http://wp.me/p4QITi-5W Keep me posted on the health of your lucky pup.

    • trisbendickson September 25, 2014 at 9:19 pm Reply

      Looking forward to reading about your pups 🙂 Thank you for stopping by Amanda!

  4. Tonia Bendickson September 26, 2014 at 7:00 am Reply

    That’s ridiculously beautiful. You’re amazing!

Leave a Reply

