White Space Whispers

Sometimes our soul just needs a vacation from the world. No cell phones. No computers. No checking FaceBook for all the adorable back-to-school pictures that both warm and hurt your heart because you aren’t sending anyone back to school. No emails to pull your attention in a direction you didn’t choose but are led to the moment you click “open”. No outside distractions that are always outside your control. Just the quiet of your own thoughts.

My husband and I just returned from a camping and boating trip to our favorite lake. Four days for my soul to rest and to breathe in only what God created. The ability to open my heart and eyes to things I may normally rush past on my way to the next urgent demand.

This trip, there were no urgent demands. There were walks and boat rides and bug spray and comfy sweats and messy hat covered hair and burned BBQ pizza and games and laughs and rain and sunshine and fresh air and the stillness of nature. There were also three nights of snoring that seemed amplified in close quarters, but I digress.

These moments of white space in my life are too few and far between. The white space moments that invite vibrant colors, normally dulled to beige by busyness. The moments of clarity and harmony for my heart. The moments where God’s presence is unmistakable and all around me. The moments when the breathtaking beauty of my surroundings cause me to pause and reflect and rejoice. The moments where I am fully present and can hear my thoughts clearly. The moments that I seek to find in everyday life, but that seem elusive with the roar of daily demands and distractions.

Only in these cherished and precious moments can I hear the gentle whispers that remind me that I am free, I am loved, and I am blessed. Those whispers that speak directly to my soul in the spaces that need to hear it most. And in these quiet white space whispers, I find peace.

20140905-093022.jpg

“Whisper” is today’s Five Minute Friday topic. Join our encouraging writing community at Kate Motaung’s Blog and hear what everyone is whispering about this week.

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “White Space Whispers

  1. happygostuckey September 5, 2014 at 12:16 pm Reply

    Hi there! Hopping over from FMF– and It seems you and I had similar takes on Whisper and how it means the absence of noise! 🙂 Enjoyed your words today and felt vicariously refreshed by your telling of your trip. Amazing how those moments are so few and far between sometimes but so very necessary.

    • trisbendickson September 6, 2014 at 6:43 am Reply

      Thank you for visiting ☺ Yes, the absence of noise – exactly. Blessings to you, FMF friend.

Leave a Reply

