Bravely Begin

The most difficult step of anything new is the first step. It is filled with uncertainty and what if’s. Doubt often delays my first steps. And my worries sometimes win.

But I want to do things. I want to be things. And I don’t want to spend my old age simmering in regret over what might have been.

For as long as I can remember, I have wanted to write a book. When I was pint-sized in pigtails, I wrote stories and drew stick figure people and purple jagged tulips atop grass that looked more like hair and with a big round sun hovering in the corner of the construction paper page. Simple but meaningful beginnings. I thought I could then. I wasn’t scared.

I managed to silence the yearning to write for much of my adulthood, reminding myself that there were more important things to accomplish. Responsibilities overshadowed possibilities.

It turns out that the things that stir your soul and stoke your passions are the things that are loud enough to be heard, even above all the doubts and fears and worries. Shhhhhhhh. Just listen. Those purpose-prompting things are in there, just waiting for you to begin.

The rational, controlling, planner parts of me spring into action when the end is unsure. Before I start, I want to know how it will all end. I want to know every detail of the process and be able to draw a map in my mind, making sure I avoid all the detours and dead-ends. I want a Plan B and C and D. And a guarantee that it will all be okay. And a warm blankie to curl up with and maybe a nice glass of wine. All before I begin.

The desire for smooth passages cannot take precedence over the desire to fulfill my purpose. I won’t let it anymore. I need a moment of courage to overcome the concerns. I need to not think so much. Too much thinking destroys my dreams. Maybe overthinking is destroying your dreams too.

I know what I want to do. I can feel it. You know the feeling too. It quietly rumbles under the surface, reminding you that you’re not done yet. This one thing still calls you. Beckons you. Needles you.

We don’t need to know how it ends in order to begin. We don’t need to know every curve and every speed bump. We don’t need to have every step carefully planned. We just need to know it is meant for us to do. And we already know it is, but we keep looking for reasons to ignore it anyway. The reasons to do it are bigger than the reasons not to.

No more doubts. No more excuses.

We must take one small step in faith and bravely begin.

20140731-203406.jpg

Linking up today for Five Minute Friday with other brave writers who have chosen to begin. And wishing beautiful blessings to our hostess with the mostess, Lisa-Jo Baker, who will be beginning a new journey and passing the FMF torch after this week. Take a peak at her blog to learn more about her new beginnings.

Tagged: , ,

4 thoughts on “Bravely Begin

  1. asmallbutmeaningfullife July 31, 2014 at 8:14 pm Reply

    Visiting from FMF. Love the idea of not needing to know how it ends in order to begin. Beautiful post. Rosanne

    • trisbendickson July 31, 2014 at 8:17 pm Reply

      Thank you for visiting, FMF friend 🙂 Here’s to new beginnings!

  2. Tonia Bendickson August 9, 2014 at 8:01 am Reply

    Your are SO brave. Cheering you on, sweet sister. Believing in you!!!

    • trisbendickson August 9, 2014 at 8:34 am Reply

      Grateful for your encouragement 🙂 Hugs and blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

