Honoring Friendships – God’s Strategically Placed Gifts

Life is meant to be a shared journey. The people placed in our paths are beautiful gifts from God. These kind souls will see us through our challenges, will encourage us, will conspire in our silliest moments, will sip coffee and ponder life’s mysteries, will celebrate the best in us, and will commiserate in our troubles and help to find solutions. These gifts are my friends.

Friendships exist in intertwined circles, revolving around the various stages and places in my little world. As I grow and progress, I have been blessed to enter new circles, adding to my swirls of sisterhood.

Some of my friendships date back many years and some are in their infancy. Whether they are seasoned or starting, they are powerful connections that allow me to open my heart and find common ground amidst the confusion of life.

Today I am honoring the friendships that have nurtured my soul and graced my broken path.

My first friend in life was my sister. She is four years older than I am, and while I’m sure I was a pain in her rump often, she has been a bright light, leading me through my journey. Nobody knows me quite like my sister.

20140425-105644.jpg

My childhood friends have come and gone, but a lovely core circle has remained a strong and cheerful presence, spanning several decades. They knew me before I was responsible and boring and they have shared my best times and we have seen each other through the worst. They are ever-present blessings that have stood the test of time.

20140425-105827.jpg

I met one of my most important friends when I was eight years old and went on to marry him. He is patient and kind and represents everything that love and friendship should be. He is my very best friend.

20140425-105941.jpg

My career has been a blessing in many ways, but perhaps the most significant blessings are the friendships that have sprouted. This circle of smart and capable women continues to grow and branch out as our lives change and go in different directions.

20140425-110046.jpg

My sister-in-laws are some of my dearest friends, brought into my life through marriage, but into my heart through love. Silly and sappy moments draw us closer year by year and together, we learn to navigate life with the wacky brothers we married.

20140425-110141.jpg

Sometimes souls are brought together during seasons of mutual growth. My friends from Friends in Bloom are women from varied backgrounds, seeking meaningful and brave relationships that explore life’s challenges in real ways. We are intentional about our topics of discussion and actively share in our quest for joy.

20140425-110910.jpg

I wonder where we would be without these impactful and supportive friendships? But I sure don’t want to find out!

I want to live life in community, along side God’s strategically placed gifts. I want to allow my heart to be open and my life to be full. I want to walk hand in hand in this journey, always surrounded by friends.

What do your dearest friendships bring to your life?

How can you continue to be open to new friendships and the gifts they will bring?

Today’s post was in response to Lisa Jo Baker’s Five Minute Friday prompt, “friend”. Join our online community of friends, won’t you?

*Photo credit for balloon photo to fellow Friends in Bloom friend, Kelly Tareski. Check out her beautiful work HERE!

Tagged:

8 thoughts on “Honoring Friendships – God’s Strategically Placed Gifts

  1. BoniLady April 25, 2014 at 10:49 am Reply

    Love your post! Friends are such an amazing part of life!!

    Dropping by from FMF! Have a great weekend!

    • trisbendickson April 25, 2014 at 10:58 am Reply

      Thank you for stopping by πŸ™‚ Wishing you blessings and friendships always.

  2. Shaina April 25, 2014 at 10:55 am Reply

    I’m sure glad you married one of those wacky brothers!!! :)))) I wouldn’t have such an amazing auntie if you didn’t fall for the mullet and mexi stache look back then πŸ˜‰

    • trisbendickson April 25, 2014 at 11:00 am Reply

      Haha, oh yes! I opted for kindness over coolness on that one πŸ™‚ Sure has been a blessing in so many ways! Hugs to you, my sweet niece!

  3. Ashley Ditto April 25, 2014 at 11:10 am Reply

    Amazing! Loved every bit of this!

  4. Shannon April 25, 2014 at 6:43 pm Reply

    There are times when just the sound of your sweet voice calms my crazy life. Never stop sharing your love through your writing. It’s just to beautiful not to share.

    • trisbendickson April 25, 2014 at 7:56 pm Reply

      You sure are a blessing in my life! Thankful for you and your beautiful heart. ❀

Leave a Reply

