Finding Power in Smallness

 

small

 

Do you ever feel like the walls are closing in around you? Do you sometimes feel like this big ol’ world has chewed you up and spit you out? Are there moments when you feel microscopic in the grand scheme of things? Me too.

I just got home from a morning coffee date with a beautiful group of women. Seemingly simple moments can infuse our lives with hope and understanding. Just to know that we are all struggling with something and feeling the sweet support of others, soothes my soul.

I left with renewed confidence and a spring in my step. I couldn’t wait to change into my cozy sweats, make a big plate of nachos, and settle in to ponder “small”. Despite wearing my fat pants and a sassy attitude, I am all too familiar with feeling small.

Maybe a million times in my life, I have felt small. Insignificant. Unimportant. When I consider the circumstances that bring out that emotion, I realize it is always in response. A reaction to a petty, unkind comment. In resistance to conflict. In defense of being backed into a corner. In anticipation of events out of my control, provoking fear, doubt, and insecurity.

Some moments are simply bigger than I am and they swallow me up. Some challenges overpower me and I retreat in defeat.

But what are the power producing sources in those moments? Where are the springs of saving grace?

For me, it comes in the form of encouragement from lovely friends. It comes from a conscious decision to trade my doubts for gratitude and praise. It comes in knowing that my tiny place in this world is an opportunity to spread love and kindness within my reach. It comes in the acknowledgement that my God is bigger than my worries and my problems. It comes in sharing my uncertainty and receiving the gift of perspective. And it comes in meaningful connections over coffee.

Wherever your empowerment is found, tap into its life giving force and drink it in. You are not insignificant or unimportant or small. You are unique and beautiful and an enormous blessing to every heart you touch. There is nothing small about that.

 

 

 

20140222-144727.jpg

 

Joining an encouraging writing community for Five Minute Friday. Today’s soul stirring prompt was “small”.

Tagged:

8 thoughts on “Finding Power in Smallness

  1. Chandra Hadfield February 22, 2014 at 5:30 pm Reply

    Hi, Visiting from FMF. I, too, have felt small and insignificant a million times in my life. What a beautiful post about perspective. I really enjoyed every bit of it, and I really love that Dr Seuss quote! Blessings!

    • trisbendickson February 22, 2014 at 5:55 pm Reply

      Blessings to you as well Chandra πŸ™‚ Thank you for your kind words!

  2. Angela Parlin February 22, 2014 at 5:39 pm Reply

    Love this…”You are not insignificant or unimportant or small…” Isn’t it interesting how much we need to be reminded of truths like this, like the world around us is always telling us the opposite. Thanks for sharing, Angela (visiting from FMF)

    • trisbendickson February 22, 2014 at 5:56 pm Reply

      So glad you stopped by Angela πŸ™‚ Grateful for your feedback!

  3. Tonia Bendickson February 23, 2014 at 3:40 am Reply

    So great, Tris! Thank you for sharing your love and light with the world!

    • trisbendickson February 23, 2014 at 7:53 am Reply

      Thank you πŸ™‚ Would love for you to join our Five Minute Friday writing too! You always have a fresh approach and it is a fun and encouraging group. Check out Lisa Jo Baker’s blog for details. Prompt goes live around midnight your time on Thursday nights and you have through Sunday to link up. Join us!

Leave a Reply

