Guarded Heart

“Above all else, guard your heart,

for everything you do flows from it.”

                                      ~ Proverbs 4:23

 

I am no stranger to the concept of guarding my heart. I have found that if you offer it up on a silver platter, it is likely to get carved open at some point. People will hurt you. That’s just what happens.

Is that reason enough to build insurmountable walls to protect your heart?

Your heart will heal. It may take time, but the wounds inflicted by others will eventually mend.

I have worked hard to guard my heart for many years, always keeping people at a safe and comfortable distance. Oh, I have wonderful people in my life that I love very much, don’t get me wrong. But opening my heart is difficult for me. It takes courage and trust.

Every now and then, my guarded heart has begged to break free. Certain people or specific circumstances inspire me to open my heart. When I listen to my instincts in those moments, I have been deeply blessed. 

 knit hearts

God has a beautiful way of knitting lives together to mend our hearts. He brings the right people in and takes the wrong people out. He gives our loved ones the qualities that we most need to offset our own. We can draw strength from one another and become whole in our brokenness.

I don’t want to be so diligent in guarding my heart that I miss an opportunity to love, to connect, to be whole. But I am not brave enough to open my heart to everyone. That has proven to be painful in my past.

I can be selective, a bit cautious, but not completely closed off. It is a delicate balancing act.

My heart is resilient, and so is yours. Our best work comes from our heart. Our passions and our purpose flow from our heart. We must protect it.

But we can allow access to the ones that have earned our trust. We can be brave and vulnerable. We can break those walls down one brick at a time.

Guard your heart, but do not imprison it.

 

 

 

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Guarded Heart

  1. Leah J's Word Trips January 15, 2014 at 9:20 pm Reply

    As person who keeps her heart guarded as well, thanks you for this post, I also love the texted photo.

    • trisbendickson January 16, 2014 at 12:31 pm Reply

      Here’s to being brave and opening our hearts to those few lovely people that we trust. Wishing you love and happiness, sweet Leah 🙂

Leave a Reply

