The Sky’s the Limit!?

Someday I learn to fly

My wings are coated in doubt.

My legs are tethered by responsibility.

“The sky’s the limit” people say, but they are braver than I am.

Why do I let things keep me down?

Life things. The pain from the past. The fear of the future.

I admire risk takers because that is so darn hard for me.

If I can calculate the outcome and odds for success are good, I will try.

If the end result is uncertain, my leap of faith is more like a stand of security.

I know who I am today and I know I am not yet who I want to be. Who I am supposed to become.

If I am ever going to fulfill my purpose and realize my full potential, I am going to have to cut some things loose. Letting go of the stuff that weighs me down is not going to be easy. But easy is not the point.

Today I stand.

Tomorrow I run.

But in that scary place that I want to get to – that place where it all comes together and the pieces fit perfectly for the life I’ve always dreamed of…

…on that day, I learn to fly.

And I gently pray that my seat cushion really does double as a floatation device.

 

 

20131122-174539.jpg

 

 

Join hundreds of other bloggers for Five Minute Friday hosted at Lisa Jo Baker’s blog. To learn more, just click on over and check it out.Β  This week’s topic was “fly”.

Tagged: ,

6 thoughts on “The Sky’s the Limit!?

  1. Marlen November 23, 2013 at 6:16 pm Reply

    Loved this post! I am right there with you, feeling the same way! Visiting from FMF =)

  2. carolineholzberger November 23, 2013 at 9:31 pm Reply

    Isn’t it just like God to show off like that?!? He brings U to my site for what He needed to say to u, and then He brings me to your site to hear exactly what He needs me to hear. He is just so cool that way. Oh, friend, have I got some strings to cut. Tough ones. Praying for us both as I go to sleep. To be fearless. To be focused. And to be able to hold on to the same flotation device, if necessary. πŸ™‚ Love, love.

    • trisbendickson November 24, 2013 at 8:36 am Reply

      Love that we could share each other’s thoughts through our writing πŸ™‚ What a blessing!

  3. Laura November 24, 2013 at 4:21 pm Reply

    “Today I stand. Tomorrow I run.” Love this. I’m right there with you with fear and doubt. Slowly I’m learning to let go and move forward. It will be a beautiful thing to run and then fly. Keep going. πŸ™‚ One step at a time is what I always say. That’s the only way to push through the fear. P.S. We’re FMF neighbors!

    • trisbendickson November 24, 2013 at 7:28 pm Reply

      Grateful for your encouragement πŸ™‚ So glad you stopped by!

Leave a Reply

