Giving Grace to Ourselves

5-minute-friday-1

Today I am linking up with Lisa Jo Baker’s Blog and hundreds of brave writers for Five Minute Friday! 

I have been so focused on my 31 Day series over the past month that I have missed out on this blessing to just write for 5 minutes about a prompted topic for the pure joy or writing. No over-thinking, no over-editing, just letting our thoughts fly!

Oh yes, I am fully aware that it is Saturday. But I didn’t want to miss out on the Friday fun again! So we’ll just give me a little grace for being late and call it good. 

The prompted topic:  GRACE

 

We can always find grace in our hearts for others. It usually comes easy for me to give grace freely when someone has hurt me or has stumbled in some way. But I am greedy with grace when it comes to giving it to myself.

My mistakes and inadequacies get everything but grace most of the time. I am judgy. I am unforgiving. I am relentless.

How about you?

What if when we stumbled in our lives, we showed ourselves grace instead of condemnation? Would we be able to find the lesson in our mistakes more effectively if we’re not so busy beating ourselves up over it?

I think so.

The more time we spend dwelling on our mistakes, our mis-steps, our shortcomings, the less time we are spending learning and growing from them.

Is it really other people that judge us most harshly for our behaviors? Or is it our own minds that hold us prisoner? And can we be freed by grace?

It is my thoughts that hold me captive, but grace can set me free if I let it. Grace can reset our thoughts and redirect our actions. It can change us if we let it. If we give it. If we get it.

Grace brings the blessings of growth.

Without it, we are stuck.

With it, we are saved.

Let there be grace within your heart for the messiness of life. The mess and the mistakes are not who you are. Those are simply outcomes of living life fully. There are gonna be some messes! Give yourself a little grace for them.

Grace speaks the truth. You are lovable. You are a work in progress. You are enough. Truth.

Condemnation speaks lies. You are unlovable. You are never going to get it right. You are not good enough. Lies.

Have those condemning thoughts ever entered your head like they enter mine?

Where is our grace in those moments? Have we used it all up on others? Do we not feel deserving of your own grace? Is our mistake so big that we feel grace is not an option?

If our God gives us grace and mercy, who are we to hold ourselves hostage to our regrets, our shortcomings, our doubts? If we are forgiven, who are we to hold a grudge against ourselves? Where is our internal grace? Why should we punish ourselves when our God has set us free?

Opportunities for grace are all around us, but perhaps the greatest need for grace is within our own hearts.

Grace

*Take a look at what the other brave writers are sharing about “grace” on Lisa Jo Baker’s Blog!

6 thoughts on “Giving Grace to Ourselves

  1. glitterwriter November 2, 2013 at 10:53 am Reply

    Thanks for your sharing your beautiful story.
    I’m working on criticizing myself less and allowing grace into my life.

    • trisbendickson November 2, 2013 at 11:00 am Reply

      So glad you stopped by! Grateful for your encouragement 🙂

  2. Susan Wachtel November 2, 2013 at 1:08 pm Reply

    Dear Tris,

    Some thought provoking words today. Perhaps, we need to give ourselves the grace we would give others when we falter and fail.

    Thank you for being open and transparent!

    Blessings in Christ…Susan

    • trisbendickson November 2, 2013 at 1:22 pm Reply

      Thank you for your kind words Susan! Wishing you abundant blessings and ample grace 🙂

  3. Dionna Sanchez (@DionnaSanchez) January 6, 2014 at 12:38 pm Reply

    I can be so hard on myself at times, especially when I feel I’ve really messed up. Grace is definitely a learned skill when applying inward! 🙂

    Dionna
    http://beautyinthestorm.com

    • trisbendickson January 6, 2014 at 6:22 pm Reply

      It is definitely an ongoing challenge for me 🙂 Thanks for stopping by Donna!

Leave a Reply

