31 Days of Soul Searching – Day 30 {Expectation}

Day 30

I am so grateful that you have joined me for this month of soul searching! We are nearing the end of our journey and I hope that you have found some topics that really resonated with you.

I sure have uncovered some valuable nuggets of truth about myself during this process. Looking deep within my core for the issues that steal my joy has been enlightening, to say the least.

Today’s topic of exploration is {expectation}.

Expectation is a strong belief that something will happen in the future, according to my trusty dictionary. It is what we hope will happen sometimes. occasionally it is what we fear may happen. It can even be what we think could not possibly happen, but we want it to anyway.

My expectations are often unrealistic. I expect people to behave a certain way and then secretly wait for them to disappoint me. I expect lofty things of myself that may be outside of my capabilities. And then there are times that I expect the worst to happen and anxiously await my disastrous fate. (I think this is my negative self-talk taking a run at me again!)

The problem lies somewhere in between our expectations and what actually happens.

Pastor Steven Furtick said it best…

“We all live in a gap. The gap between what we expect and what we experience. It’s where our dreams die and passions fade. It’s often the birthplace of our frustration, disappointment, and discouragement.”

We can choose to fill that gap with doubts and fears, or we can choose to fill that gap with hopes and dreams. But I would argue that the best “filler” for this expectation gap is action. And Pastor Steven encourages us to let God build a bridge over that gap.

You see, I want to have high expectations of my life! I want to be able to dream big. I want to believe the best in others. But I am hesitant to bank on my expectations coming true because so often they don’t. Or they do, in some situations where I’m expecting the worst. Either way, it’s not good.

One of my favorite quotes comes to mind…

“Whether you think you can, or whether you think you can’t, you’re right.”

                                                                ~ Henry Ford

Our thoughts drive our expectations. And whatever those may be, we are creating self-fulfilling prophecies through them. When we learn to cultivate better thoughts, we can work to create better outcomes as well.

My expectations of my future are bright. Why shouldn’t they be? I have everything I need to be successful and make all my dreams come true. I may not know exactly how to reach my goals, but I know that I can confidently take steps toward them each day. I want to bridge that gap and make my expectations a reality!

What are your life expectations?

Are you ever disappointed when reality falls short of your expectations?

How will you choose to bridge your expectation gap?

I am nowhere near having it all figured out yet and I am certain that my expectations will occasionally be vastly different from what will occur in my life. But I want to limit my disappointment and frustration surrounding the outcomes. I want to work through my struggles. I want to take action toward my dreams. I am committed to creating my part of the story through my choices and my actions.

This new mindset alters my expectations…

I expect that my life will be a beautiful journey. I expect that my blessings will far outweigh my struggles. I expect that challenges will occur, but I expect to be capable of overcoming them through strength and determination. I expect to meet fantastic people along the way who will teach me great things. I expect that some people who cross my path will teach me unpleasant lessons as well, but I accept that they will be necessary to my growth and development. I expect that there will be pleasure, and I expect to experience pain. But above all, I expect to be guided by my heart, by my soul, and by my Lord.

 

 

I encourage you to check out the Elevation Church sermon series called Expectation Gap. I think it will provide some great insight for you!

 

 

*This is the 30th post in a 31 day series on Soul Searching. To follow the series from the beginning, simply click here and you will be directed to the introductory post which contains links to each day’s topic.

20140325-135403.jpg

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

