31 Days of Soul Searching – Day 25 {Purpose}

Day 25

The interesting thing I am finding is, the more soul searching I do, the more I long to find a distinct reason that I am in this big crazy world of ours.

As much as I am searching for the beauty buried deep within my soul, I am also searching for the blessings that will bubble up and spill over into my life and on out to yours as well.

I am seeking the answer to “for ____ I was made”.

{Purpose} is that burning feeling that we were made specifically to carry out what only we can. But figuring out what I am perfectly designed to do is the hard part.

I don’t remember always being in tune to this notion. I don’t think I always cared.

In my younger years, I was completely satisfied working hard and doing my best at whatever came my direction. I was ambitious and determined, but for no specific purpose other than giving things my “all” felt good. I need a place to focus my energy and work usually did that for me.

Now, I am questioning and pondering things that never hit my radar back then. These answers I am seeking will go a long way in helping me fulfill my purpose in life. But how is it that the questions always seem to out number the answers with this topic?

Before you can determine your purpose, you have to decide what you believe.

I believe that we all have a unique gift that we are meant to give the world while we are in it. The tricky part to believing in this type of purpose is that we will have failed if we hold on too tightly to our God-given gifts.

“Many of us will go to our graves with our music still inside us, unplayed.”

                                                     ~ Oliver Wendell Holmes

This resonates with me. I am fearful that the song of my life will remain unsung. Unheard.

But what the heck is my song?!?!

Honestly I have no idea! I know that my quest for purpose should be led by passion. What do I feel most passionate about in my life? When do I feel the most alive?

I find this strange correlation between the moments where I feel most alive and the qualities that I have suppressed in my life. Perhaps this only applies to my own situation, but I have sadly allowed the things I love to do to take a backseat to the things I have to do. Responsibility sometimes overshadows everything. And lately I am feeling a burning desire to resurface those “love to do” things.

What if this yearning is God’s gentle way to guide me toward my purpose?

Am I open enough and strong enough to let myself be pulled toward my purpose through obedience?

And what is the risk if I am not obedient in those moments?

Let’s revisit the gift idea for a moment. My sweet husband often goes to the grocery store to pick up what we need – he is pretty awesome that way. And sometimes when he gets home he will say “I thought about getting you flowers while I was there… it’s the thought that counts, right?”.

All you ladies out there have probably just answered this question in your heads as you were reading this. NOPE! It is most definitely not the thought that counts in this scenario.

A gift ungiven is also unreceived.

Now, just to be clear here, I do not need flowers to know that my husband loves me. I know that from lots of other things that he says and does and I am completely overwhelmed with love for him too. But his thinking about getting me flowers does not elicit the same emotion and gratitude that him actually getting me flowers would.

The difference is putting the thoughts into action.

Think about all the times you have pondered your purpose in life. If you have just thought the thoughts and not actually done anything about it, I would wager that your purpose is still in its infancy, hidden behind other thoughts in your mind.

But if you have stepped out in courage and taken some action, then you are likely moving closer and closer to what it is that really makes your heart sing. It is the action. The steps. The “doing” that will lead you to finally giving your gifts to the world. And in giving your gifts, the world will be a better place simply because you are in it.

I do not want to miss out on fulfilling my purpose simply because I am not willing to give my gifts! I do not want to go to my grave with my music still in me!

I encourage you to consider a few things…

What is it that you are most passionate about in life?

What really makes your heart sing?

Who in your life brings out those qualities in you?

Outside of your job, your family role, your responsibilities, what do you see as your purpose in life?

Those questions will uncover some thoughts that will begin to point you toward your purpose. But remember that thoughts without action, are still just thoughts.

I am uncertain as to what my purpose in life is. I am actively seeking it though. And while I think it may have something to do with encouraging, teaching, listening, and sharing, I am not really sure how those things translate into purpose. I am taking steps. I am encouraging more. I am sharing more. I am taking action.

Will you join me in pursuing your purpose too?

*This is the 25th post in a 31 day series on Soul Searching. To follow the series from the beginning, simply click here and you will be directed to the introductory post which contains links to each day’s topic.

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “31 Days of Soul Searching – Day 25 {Purpose}

  1. Faye October 25, 2013 at 1:02 pm Reply

    As a 66 year old retired nurse I am deeply seeking God’s purpose for the years I have left on this earth. I lived the last 25 years in constantly performing in areas of work , family and church. My health as taken a toll. God is teaching me I do not have to perform or constantly be involved to earn His love and approval and acceptance. My life has come to a complete halt. The things I use to love to do, I felt guilty doing them . There were other things that needed to be done. I volunteered for everything. No was not in my vocabulary. I am an encourager and I love learning , as in reading . I love outdoors and working with clay. But never felt I was very good at the potters wheel. I want to be creative but it doesn’t flow easily. The question why am I still here? And is there any music inside me waiting to be played?

    • trisbendickson October 25, 2013 at 4:19 pm Reply

      Faye, thank you so much for stopping by and sharing your story. I am inspired by your courage to make changes to your life and search for your purpose. We women always want to care for everyone else’s needs and along the way, we sometimes forget about our own. I pray that your love for learning and pottery helps you find your unique and beautiful gift to this world. Although through all of your work with church and community, I have no doubt that your gifts have already blessed so many. Grateful for your wisdom and kindness and your giving spirit!

Leave a Reply

