31 Days of Soul Searching – Day 24 {Comparison}

Day 24

Just when I think I may be running out of soul searching topics, another good one just smacks me up-side the head!

We are making little pink tutu’s for our Halloween costumes at work and today I got to see the finished product of one of my sweet co-worker’s masterpiece. It is so darned cute! She was such a good sport and modeled that tutu with gumption and sass.

As I was looking at this adorable tutu on my adorable co-worker, I kept thinking about how mine would look on me. My butt is bigger, my thighs are thicker, and Lord knows I have not donned a tutu since my dancing days decades ago. Insecurities flooded my head as if I were competing for the coveted mirror ball trophy in this silly little tutu.

{Comparison} likes to kick me around a little in moments like that.

When you see someone wearing an outfit you admire, what runs through your head? If your mind makes a visit to that ugly place where you think it only looks cute on her because she’s thinner, prettier, younger, yada, yada, yada… then you might just have a little problem with comparison.

If when a friend announces that they’ve just accomplished a major milestone in their life, you begin to think of all your missed opportunities and lack-luster achievements… you may be suffering from comparison issues.

When it is your turn to bring snacks for the soccer game and you can only muster up the time and creativity to grab some juice boxes and packaged fruit snacks but you feel guilty for that because last week they had fancy home-made cupcakes and sparkling cider… you have probably welcomed comparison into your life.

I would like to think that I am not the only person in the world that is challenged by this. I’m not alone here, right friends?

This comparison problem does a few very destructive things if we’re not able to keep it in check:

  *It erodes our self-confidence.

  *It inhibits our ability to celebrate each other.

  *It fosters guilt and resentment.

Consider for a moment how this toxic thought process influences the youth in our society. If they are inclined to compare themselves to the unrealistic images in magazines and media, then they are ultimately engraving the idea into their minds that they are not good enough, and probably won’t ever be. Goodness sakes, how tragic is that thought?

Moving our minds forward to a solution, we need to focus on a few key things:

  *You are exactly who you were created to be!

  *You are beautiful, accomplished, and loved!

  *You are enough!

I was inspired yesterday by a friend’s Facebook picture that she posted at the direction of author, Brene Brown’s life class. Her selfie featured her beautiful face and her hand with a message written on it that read, “I am imperfect & I’m enough”. I saw a similar picture that fellow blogger “A Ready Listener” posted as well. What an amazing sentiment that is! And how lovely that we can encourage and support one another to not only say that to ourselves, but to actually believe it. We are all enough, exactly as we are!

Today, let the thoughts of your flaws leave your mind. Instead, celebrate your strengths. Think about the things you are great at, the unique things that make you who you are, and the gifts you possess. Let these thoughts fill your mind every time you are tempted to compare your shortcomings to other people’s strengths.

Life is not a competition!

You are exactly the right amount of awesome just as you are, right at this moment!

Say it, feel it, believe it!

Right amount of awesome!

*This is the 24th post in a 31 day series on Soul Searching. To follow the series from the beginning, simply click here and you will be directed to the introductory post which contains links to each day’s topic.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

