31 Days of Soul Searching – Day 20 {Faith}

Day 20

On this beautiful 20th day of our series, we are focusing on a less tangible but more powerful concept.

All the soul searching in the world over any number of days won’t turn up the kind of results we are wishing for without one important thing.

{Faith} is our ability to believe in the things we cannot see and to take steps in the right direction even when we don’t know all the answers.

“Taking a leap of faith” allows us to rely on something bigger than ourselves. It is a core belief that we are not in control of everything all the time. And if your faith is strong, it may mean that we are not in control of anything at any time.

I am guided by faith in many areas of my life. While I do believe that I can control my choices and my courses of action, I choose to believe that the rest is in God’s hands.

Faith means something slightly different to everyone, and it is at differing degrees within each of us. But I think it is safe to say that faith is a profound trust in what we don’t yet understand or know. In faith, we can believe that all things are possible even if we can’t figure out how it will all work out.

I’m curious…

What does faith mean to you?

How does your faith guide your decisions?

What would your life be like in the absence of faith?

What would your life be like with a greater dependence on faith?

Life frequently brings me to things I cannot comprehend alone. I question the “why’s” behind situations and I hope for answers to help me figure out life’s mysteries. All of that questioning though, causes my soul to be unsettled.

Today, I choose to walk in faith and seek comfort rather than answers to life’s mysteries. Today, I want to just believe that everything will turn out exactly as it is meant to be. Today, I will follow my faith toward peace and toward light.

Whether you are developing new faith or if you are a seasoned veteran of a faith filled life, my wish for you is that you take that leap. I promise that this will be the only time I ask my sweet readers to “take a flying leap”. Trust me here. Close your eyes and take that big scary flying leap of faith. Replace your worries with faith. Challenge your doubts through faith. Believe that everything will be okay because of faith.

The thing you are struggling with right now – that very thing that is challenging your faith as you read this – it will begin to feel more manageable the moment that you no longer seek answers and instead allow your faith to rise up and overcome.

“When you walk to the edge of all the light you have
and take that first step into the darkness of the unknown,
you must believe that one of two things will happen:

There will be something solid for you to stand upon,
or, you will be taught how to fly.”

                                                       ~ Patrick Overton

We need faith in our lives. Reassuring, rebuilding, redirecting, rejoicing FAITH!

Today I walk

 

*This is the 20th post in a 31 day series on Soul Searching. To follow the series from the beginning, simply click here and you will be directed to the introductory post which contains links to each day’s topic.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

