31 Days of Soul Searching – Day 19 {Independence}

Day 19

“I can do it all by myself” were words that frequently came from my mouth as a toddler. 

I quickly learned to be self-sufficient and was ready to tackle anything. I was always sure I could handle whatever came my way, even from such a young age.

{Independence} has empowered me to stand on my own two feet and face the world!

Searching our souls and finding independence there, deep in the middle of the messiness, is such a blessing. But I am realizing that I may be taking my independence for granted.

Looking around, I am able to spot people in my life that aren’t as blessed. Some are unable to care for themselves because of serious health challenges. Some are unable to think for themselves because they have always been told what to believe. Some are unable to handle life’s struggles because they simply don’t think they can. Some are unable to make ends meet due to financial burdens. Some find it difficult to function on their own because their every move has been controlled.

I am so very blessed, and taking inventory of the gifts that I often take for granted. I am able to care for myself, think for myself, handle difficult things, be financially secure, and have the freedom to function however I decide to. I am an independent soul and I am thankful for that.

On occasion though, I need help too. But in those moments I often allow my desire to “do it all by myself” to resurface from my childhood and take over. It isn’t a pretty sight, like a toddler tantrum gone bad. Oh, there are tears and whining and clenched fists a’ flailing. All because my stubborn soul cannot accept that I actually CANNOT do everything all by myself.

Reality Check –> None of us can do everything ourselves. We need each other for support and assistance throughout our entire lives. We don’t have to do it all alone.

In my moments of tantrum temptation when I just don’t want to depend on anyone for anything, I will remind myself of a few things…

Asking for help is not admitting defeat.

Be grateful for what I can do, but be accepting of the things I cannot do.

I have been blessed with a willing and capable cast of characters in my life that are here to help.

We were never meant to do it all alone.

Independence doesn’t mean a complete lack of partnership or community. It doesn’t mean you shouldn’t ask for help. I doesn’t mean that you are all alone in your battles. It simply means that you have the confidence and ability to act on your own, free from control, and live your life in an autonomous way. And independence is a blessing that I will no longer take for granted.

never meant to

 

*This is the 19th post in a 31 day series on Soul Searching. To follow the series from the beginning, simply click here and you will be directed to the introductory post which contains links to each day’s topic.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

