31 Days of Soul Searching – Day 15 {Timing}

Day 15

“All in due time” is a phrase I hear tossed around in conversation. When exactly is that? And why not now?

{Timing} is not an easy concept to pin down. Now, later, never. It completely challenges my understanding and my patience.

I have already admitted that I am not a patient person by nature. Something I need to work on. But understanding timing is more than just being patient.

When I was in college I remember thinking that everything in my life would be wonderful “when” I found a boyfriend. Although that “when” seemed like it may be a lifetime away, I was hopeful. What I didn’t realize is that it really would come “all in due time”. I was blessed with relationships that taught me exactly what I needed to learn to prepare me for that blessed “when”. Years had passed and the timing was perfect.

So why is it that I push for things to happen as if I have the power to make them come true?

I suppose that is the control freak coming out in me at the same time my tiny bit of patience fades away.

There have been many things in my life that I have hoped to happen and then waited, and waited, and waited for. Some things I am still waiting for. The mystery of timing eludes me. The purpose of the waiting. The unfulfilled desires.

But just as my relationship came in due time, perhaps my other hopes and dreams will as well. If that had come earlier in my life, I would not have been able to handle it. While it was always destined to be, it was never up to me.

Think about a blessing you have now (a job, a relationship, a child, an opportunity) that you thought would never arrive because it was not coming according to your time-table. If it would have blessed you when you asked for it, would you have been ready? Ready to nurture it and ready to care for it? Ready to make the most of it? Ready to appreciate it properly?

“God is never late and rarely early. He is always exactly right on time – His time.”                                                        

                                                             ~ Dillon Burroughs 

The ultimate time-keeper is God. His timing is always perfect. Our waiting always has a purpose, even when we’re unable to recognize what that purpose is in the moments of want. The preparations and the sacrifices make the blessings so much sweeter, so my task will be to prepare.

Timing will likely always challenge me. I will ask for things that I don’t deserve right now. I will hope for things that aren’t meant for me. I may even receive things that I am not feeling ready for. I will wish that I understood the “why’s” of it all and I’m sure I will wait for answers that may never come. The mystery of it all is what makes this life such a confusing and beautiful journey.

All things in due time, sweet friends. All things in God’s time.

 

*This is the 15th post in a 31 day series on Soul Searching. To follow the series from the beginning, simply click here and you will be directed to the introductory post which contains links to each day’s topic.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

