31 Days of Soul Searching – Day 11 {Love}

Day 11

Today I am celebrating my wedding anniversary to my loving husband of 16 years. Every year when this beautiful day rolls around, I reflect.

{Love} is perhaps the greatest gift that we could give or receive. Such a pure emotion. Such a perfect state of mind. And such a lovely thing to ponder as we are searching our souls this month.

There are so many different kinds of love – parents to children, husband to wife, friend to friend. And each kind of love is a unique blessing.

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”

                                                              ~ Corinthians 13:4-7

Sometimes I have to remind myself how love should behave. Patience is not my strong suit. I often struggle with pride too. And, oh my goodness, I’m not supposed to keep a record of wrongs? My heart is so good at keeping score though!

Those struggles are not coming from love. They are coming from less pure emotions and from hurt feelings. They come from places I am not proud of. They come from the very things that I am working on throughout this 31 day journey.

I am so blessed to have found the love of my life when I was just a kiddo. We met when I was 8 and he was 10 years old, and our journey together has been full of adventure ever since. Sure there have been challenges. There are in any relationship. But there have been the most memorable, beautiful moments I could have possibly imagined. Those moments came from love.

Today, I vow to love purely and completely with all that it is intended to be. Leaving my pride and impatience and intolerance and imperfections aside. Learning to love in the face of challenges. With everything I have and with everything I am. Re-committing. Re-connecting. Celebrating my soul-mate. Forever and ever, amen.

I encourage you to ponder love in your life…

When you love, are you able to remember how love should behave?

Are there any areas that you want to work on?

I am deeply grateful for the love I have in my life. It truly is all around us if we just open our hearts to it. Wishing you a lifetime of love!

 

*This is the 11th post in a 31 day series on Soul Searching. To follow the series from the beginning, simply click here and you will be directed to the introductory post which contains links to each day’s topic.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

