31 Days of Soul Searching – Day 6 {Prayer}

Day 6

Turns out that exploring the depths of your soul is quite the emotional drain! I am thankful for a few days of realistic reflection, don’t get me wrong.

But I am ready for a little breather.

We have pondered how we occasionally perpetuate our own struggles through a need for perfection, being a die-hard pleaser, self-created fears, and difficulties with forgiveness. And through this soul searching, I can begin to make positive changes in how I approach these road blocks.

Today, I don’t want to find any more faults. Today, I don’t want to reveal any more realizations. Today, I need a little divine intervention.

Today I’m livin’ on a {Prayer}.

*Side note – I may be drawing a little inspiration from my excitement of attending the Bon Jovi concert tonight?! “Whoa, we’re half way there, whoa livin’ on a prayer!” You’re singing right now too, aren’t you?!

I have not always been able to draw strength from prayer. I have wanted to, but didn’t really know how. I thought there was some sort of trick to it or a “right” way to pray. There is not. It is just a personal conversation with God.

Developing a closer relationship with God fills your emptiness in a way that I really can’t describe. I can try. You know when you are feeling your lowest and loneliest and you are very convinced that you are on your own in this big world? [maybe that is just me, or maybe you can relate?] Well, in those moments I find that an honest and humble conversation with God warms my soul and fills my heart with hope. In those moments I know that I am not alone.

Then why don’t I pray more? If I can feel the benefits of it, why wouldn’t I pray every time I feel that way? Good question, right? The truth is, I don’t turn to prayer every time I should because it just doesn’t come that naturally to me.

For many years, my mantra has been “if it is to be, it is up to me”. While that may be true at times, repeating that phrase over and over again just leaves me feeling more alone. It may motivate me to press on, but I feel depleted. I am learning to trade that mantra in for a new one that leaves me feeling calm and at peace. “God will protect and God will provide.” Reassuring. Supportive. Comforting.

Today I am making a commitment to prayer. When I am feeling challenged, but also when I am not, I will begin that conversation with God. Relying on my faith allows me to breathe and realize that I am not alone. Drawing on my spirituality gives me strength that I need in those moments.

Here are a few prayers that begin those conversations…

“God, I ask that you will guide me through this challenge and light my path with your love. I know that you are by my side and I am thankful for your presence and your guidance always…”

“Lord, I pray that you will show me the good in this situation. I know that you have a plan, but I am struggling with finding the purpose of this pain. Please Lord, I ask that you will give me strength to endure and the wisdom to see the purpose…”

“God, I need you to work in my heart today. My reactions are raw and my patience are thin. Please show me a better way to react and please help me to hold my hurtful tongue…”

“God, I am grateful to you for all of the blessings you have given me in this life. Thank you for your generous provisions and for your unfailing love…”

“Lord, I see my dear friend struggling and I ask that you will work in her heart today. She needs your support and your comfort…” 

“Dear God, I see your work in my loved one lately and I am thankful for your presence in their life. I ask that you will continue to light their path and show your love so that their heart may be changed and their focus may be on You instead of on their demons…”

I pray these things in Your name. Amen.

These are not perfect prayers, but they are mine. It doesn’t matter how well crafted they are or how they are delivered. It just matters that they are from my heart.  And from this girl who is often a little lost and lonely, these conversation starters can completely turn around my day.

Today I encourage you to pray. However you choose to do it is exactly right. Whatever topic is completely fine. It is your personal conversation with God, and while it may not be perfect, it will be perfect for you.

Prayer comes very naturally to many of you, I am sure. And if you would be so kind to offer your tips to successfully working it into your everyday life, that would be fantastic! Please feel free to share your thoughts in the comments section below.

 

*This is the 6th post in a 31 day series on Soul Searching. To follow the series from the beginning, simply click here and you will be directed to the introductory post which contains links to each day’s topic.

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “31 Days of Soul Searching – Day 6 {Prayer}

  1. Anne October 22, 2013 at 3:37 pm Reply

    I’m passionate about prayer. I just began to learn more about centering prayer. It’s different but oh so good. God is truly my lifeline. It sounds like He’s yours too. I usually journal my prayers.

    • trisbendickson October 22, 2013 at 4:40 pm Reply

      I am so grateful for your kind words today, Anne. I am learning more and more to turn to God as my lifeline. I would love to hear more about “centering prayer”. I am intrigued!

Leave a Reply

