31 Days of Soul Searching – Day 4 {Fear}

Day 4

“The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.”

~ Franklin D Roosevelt

Logical. Profound. True.

Why is it that {fear} can completely paralyze my progress?

I admit that I’m a bit of a fraidy cat. If I happen to see a teaser for a horror movie near bedtime, I have to turn the channel immediately or look away to avoid nightmares. Oh, I am a big baby about those kind of things!

Although valid, that is not the kind of fear I am talking about here.

The kind of fear that impacts my life is a much more dangerous fear. It is a self-created fear, and often a self-fulfilling prophecy. It begins with a shred of doubt and it tumbles around in my head picking up worries along the way until it has grown into a fear ball of epic proportions.

Fear of failure. Fear of disappointment. Fear of inadequacy. Fear of the unknown.

Real, scary, fear.

But is it real? I create it inside my own head, and in reality, fear is just a crazy cluster of my own thoughts gone bad. So why is that scary?

The thoughts that I give focus to I also give power to.

And that can be scary.

These fears I create have real power over me. Silly, irrational, powerful fears that are very good at talking me out of things in my life.

You never hear a fearful thought tell you that you CAN do something. Fear is not about “can”. Fear is about “you better not even try because it will be disastrous”.

These past few days of soul searching have made me painfully aware of my fears. Each sentence I write leaves me emotionally raw, and that is a pretty scary thing. But this awareness and vulnerability is essential for growth and improvement.

It is necessary for us to recognize these triggers so that we can learn to get past them. And we can get past them.

When fear tells me “I can’t”, I will dig deeper to find the voice of truth that will tell me “I can”.

When fear causes me to doubt my own abilities, I will replace those thoughts with ones that celebrate my strengths instead.

When fear paralyzes me, I will muster the strength to fight back and kick that fear right out of my head!

I can’t promise that fighting these fears will be easy, but I can promise it will be worthwhile. If we are able to conquer even some of our irrational fears, just think of what we can accomplish.

Knowing that the thoughts we give focus to are the thoughts we give power to is an empowering epiphany! Let’s go forth and conquer!!!

I am curious how fear is impacting your life?

What fears challenge your progress?

How will you change the way you approach your fears?

What is the risk to allowing fear to have power in your life?

Thank you for your support, encouragement, and companionship along this journey. I am starting to feel more aware and more equipped to handle these challenges already. I hope you are too!

focus

 

*This is the 4th post in a 31 day series on Soul Searching. To follow the series from the beginning, simply click here and you will be directed to the introductory post which contains links to each day’s topic.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

