31 Days of Soul Searching – Day 1 {Whoooooo?}

Day 1Today I am embarking on a soul searching adventure for the entire month of October and I am thrilled that you have joined me!

The first step on this journey is the realization that I want more from my life.

More joy, more love, more fulfillment, more of the things that make this wacky life worthwhile.

Realizations like this are a call to action. And the action I am taking is to look within for the things I am living without. So let this uncomfortable examination begin!

When I think about the things that hold me back in my life or the things that cause me stress and anxiety, I get a little bit worried about what I may uncover. Maybe this extra digging around in the deepest corners of my soul will unearth something that I don’t want to find.

Sure I have some skeletons in my closet, just like we all do, and I freely acknowledge that.

But that is the past.

So what am I most afraid of uncovering during this 31 day examination of life?

{HARSH reality here}

Perhaps I am responsible for perpetuating my struggles.

There, I said it. And OUCH!

Who is my biggest critic? Who’s voice do I hear when my insecurities run rampant? Who is in charge of my choices? Who controls my attitude? Who, who, WHOOOOOOOO?????

{The irony that I wore an owl pendant today is not lost on me.}

The answer to all of those “who” questions is… ME.

Whoa. That is a lot of responsibility for little ol’ me to handle! Everything, all of it on my shoulders?

The beauty of this journey is you don’t have to go it alone. When the reality is overwhelming, we can {and should} ask for help.  And we are never truly alone when we have God in our corner. 

But for this initial self-examination stage, while peeling back the layers, it is all about what is happening within us. So let’s dig in and see what is at the source of these struggles so that we can learn to make positive changes and alter the future outcomes.

By the end of these 31 days we will be able to:

  • Recognize ways that we contribute to our own challenges.
  • Accept ownership for the triggers and traps we face regularly.
  • Create positive ways to approach these struggles differently.

I am imposing just two simple rules during this journey:

*Be willing to be honest with yourself.
*Be kind and gentle with yourself.

If we are not honest with ourselves during this soul searching, we will not be able to learn and grow. And if we are not kind and gentle about the truths we uncover, it will be destructive and defeatist instead of enlightening and encouraging.

If you are ready to jump in, I am too!

Today, I encourage you to think about the most common “get in your own way” situations in your life. 

What do you currently do when you recognize that situation unfolding?

What is the long-term consequence if you don’t change your approach? 

Tomorrow, I will share one of my top triggers and do some soul searching to find healthy ways to transform how it effects my life. 

You can follow this month’s series by subscribing to my blog. Just enter your email address in the upper right hand section of my blog and each day the new post will be delivered directly to your email.  

Thank you for joining me on this journey of self-discovery!

 

 

*This is the 1st post in a 31 day series on Soul Searching. To follow the series from the beginning, simply click here and you will be directed to the introductory post which contains links to each day’s topic.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

