Lazy Christian Tip of the Week

Despite my lazy nature, today I wasn’t lazy. This particular Sunday I spent with my dear friends for our annual Race for the Cure outing.

We have been doing it for several years now and it is by far one of my most treasured experiences in life. Walking along side lifelong friends in celebration of strong women we love who have struggled and won the fight.

Just last year I remember having a conversation in the Olive Garden restroom after the race. Our deeply rooted group of friends had beaten the statistics and we were all cancer free at age 42. That was last year and I wish I could say that we were still all cancer free at 43. We are not.

Today we put on our pink wigs and walked in support of one of our own. And at the conclusion of the race as we crossed the finish line arm in arm, a lovely volunteer was handing out survivor medals. This year one of those brave souls fighting for her life is our friend. As she put the medal around her neck, tears filled her eyes.

My hope is that she felt our friendship draped around her shoulders like a cozy blanket today. And that she feels our love, support, and prayers everyday as she battles cancer.

20130922-194239.jpg

How is this a Lazy Christian Tip, you may be thinking?

It is a loving reminder to celebrate life and cultivate the friendships that bless you. There will never be “enough” time with your loved ones, so it is important that we celebrate today. Celebrate every day.

This week’s tip is really a request.

Today, reach out to a friend in a supportive and loving way. Send a text, make a phone call, share a meal, enjoy a cup of coffee together, take a walk. It doesn’t really matter how you do it, but please do. It will make your day infinitely better, it will positively impact your sweet friend, and it will please God as well.

And if I may be so bold to make another request, I would be ever so grateful if you would say a prayer for my dear friend as she prepares for chemo tomorrow.

Thank you for helping to lift her up in prayer!

“Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead.
Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow.
Just walk beside me and be my friend.”

~ Albert Camus

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Lazy Christian Tip of the Week

  1. Karrina Page September 23, 2013 at 9:15 pm Reply

    I want to subscribe!

    • trisbendickson September 24, 2013 at 6:44 pm Reply

      You just have to enter your email address on the upper right hand corner of the website 🙂 Would love for you to subscribe! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

