Worship Waterworks

Today I am trying something new! I have found this great site called (in)courage and this morning while sipping my coffee on my last day of vacation, I stumbled across a challenge. Sometimes I glaze past things like that but today, this was a call to action for me.

The task: To take 5 minutes to write. Unedited. (although spell check is my best friend) Unapologetic. Just write. The prompted topic today is “Worship”. So I grabbed my note pad, snuggled up in a fuzzy throw, set down my coffee and let the juices flow. Here it goes…

5-minute-friday-1

Worship. The best mini rock concerts I have ever been to!

Hands lifted in the air like the wave at a sporting event. On queue. Just right.

While the raised hands confused me at first, I now understand the openness to God that it expresses. A vulnerability and a willingness to receive Him.

I have been reaching toward His Kingdom for a while now, but I am still fairly new and a bit insecure in my faith. Not really in the faith part as much as in the proper practice of it. Anything worth doing is worth doing right, right?

You see, when I am amidst hundreds of voices singing out His praise, I am too busy suppressing my tears to raise my hands. My hands are otherwise engaged. I learned a somewhat effective technique to hold back the waterworks a few years ago and I get to practice it during every worship experience. With one hand you squeeze the soft flesh between your thumb and index finger of your other hand. Both hands busy.

I always hope for a voice nearby to be horribly off-key to distract me. I diligently concentrate every word on that screen and belt ’em out to the best of my ability, but that doesn’t always hold my attention. My mind wanders and my eyes well up. And after the music is over and everyone looks around before sitting back down, I surely hope that no kind soul asks me what is wrong. The truth is… I don’t know!

Why am I crying? For goodness sake, I can’t even hold it together for 15 minutes of glorious, cheerful, beautiful music?!

I truly don’t understand what opens the flood gates within me, but I think it is more about what He is opening in my heart during that time together. Turns out, apparently I don’t need to lift my hands up to Him to worship. He is clearly reaching down to me.

A few questions for you:

What stirs your soul and brings you to tears when you are spending time with God?

Why do you think it evokes so much emotion?

Can you please pass me a tissue?

 

 

 

Click here to link up to (in)courage’s Five Minute Friday too!

Tagged: ,

6 thoughts on “Worship Waterworks

  1. Deb Weaver (@DebWordWeaver) August 30, 2013 at 10:04 am Reply

    Oh, I especially love that last part–He is reaching down to me. He does, doesn’t He?!

    Congrats on trying something new–I tried Five Minute Friday for the first time today too!

    Deb Weaver
    thewordweaver.com

    • trisbendickson August 30, 2013 at 8:33 pm Reply

      Thank you for your kind encouragement Deb! What a fun challenge! I am looking forward to reading your post too πŸ™‚

  2. Rebekah Straw August 30, 2013 at 10:09 am Reply

    Oh man. This speaks to me. Recently I have been tearing up at the weirdest times because I am just overwhelmed by HIM. It is a beautiful feeling. Thank you for sharing!

    • trisbendickson August 30, 2013 at 8:36 pm Reply

      It’s nice to hear that you are sometimes overwhelmed with emotion too Rebekah πŸ™‚ Looking forward to reading you Five Minute Friday post too!

  3. auntyamo August 30, 2013 at 10:17 am Reply

    I wish I knew why the tears come. I find at communion time I’m very emotional. Maybe it’s a small insight in to how loved we are and at the same time how unworthy we are.
    Don’t really know but sorry… I’ve rarely any clean tissues left! πŸ™‚

    • trisbendickson August 30, 2013 at 8:41 pm Reply

      I like the thought of that… His love overwhelming us through emotion. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

