Looks like Love

My family doesn’t look like yours.  No, we’re not freaks or anything, in fact we are generally an attractive bunch.  But different. 

The framework of our family picture is this…

I am the daughter of two parents who did the best they knew how.  They were great in so many ways.  But in some ways, they were challenged.  And the challenges that they were facing impacted my sister and I in ways that I will explain later. 

I am the wife of a wonderful man.  A man that I have known since I was 10 years old.  A man that was the boy who stole my heart so many years ago and has clung to it ever since.  While we have not been together since we were kids, we have been life long friends, and soul mates forever. 

I am the world’s best auntie to two sweet nieces and five fabulous nephews.  I have gotten to pour my nurturing instincts into these kiddos over the years which has been good for me.  Coming up with creative gifts for every holiday is my Super Aunt claim to fame.  And their gratitude is a true blessing. 

I am a step-mom to two lovable and slightly lost boys.  They are 21 and 22 now and I have been in their lives since they were 2 and 3 years old.  I have not always been the influence that I dreamed I could be to them, and I have failed them in more ways than I can count. 

I am a doggie mom to an adorable black lab named Brody.  He is my BABY!  He is the only baby I will ever have which makes me both grateful and sad.  Grateful for him.  But sad for what just wasn’t meant to be. 

I am a grandma to a darling little girl.  Step grandma actually, but grandma nonetheless.  I get to see her from time to time and I always savor those moments together.  She just has this way of looking at me and leaning on me that make me feel needed. 

I am a million things in between.  I am not all the things I dreamed I would be.  I am the picture in the frame of this interesting family who has shaped my being.  A family that looks different than yours.  Imperfect, complicated, and sometimes messy, but a family that I love.

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Looks like Love

  1. ShainaMarie August 12, 2013 at 8:19 am Reply

    You were meant to be right where you are 🙂 and never forget how wonderful if a blessing you are to this family now, then, and forever! You are loved ❤

  2. trisbendickson August 12, 2013 at 10:47 am Reply

    Blessed to be part of this family ❤

Leave a Reply

